How to use the Gcode preprocessor (for complete newbies!)

How to use the Gcode preprocessor (for complete newbies!)

Postby Guizmo » Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:33 pm

Ok, like me, you just finished the assembly of your GUS machine, loaded the firmware to the Azteeg, generated some Gcode, installed Repetier and when you think you are ready to go, you realize GUS cannot work directly with cartesian coordinates. There is where Segmentize enters the work flow.

This is what you need to do in order to have the Gcode ready for GUS.
(There are multiple choices for software, but I'll list what I used)

1.- Download Segmentize. Go here: https://github.com/NicholasSeward/ConceptFORGE/blob/master/GUS%20Simpson/GCODE%20PREPROCESSOR/simpson%20segmentize.py, You will see this:
SegmentizeScreen.png
SegmentizeScreen.png (31.17 KiB) Viewed 19169 times

2.- Copy all the code (the image shows a partial selection) and paste it in a txt file. Then save it as Segmentize.py. Don't forget to change the file type to "all files". Save it to an easy to write directory, like C:\GUS\segmentize.py (I'll use this as an example, but you can choose any directory you want).

PS: You can increase the quality of the segmentation by reducing the segmentl length. Just find SEGMENT_SIZE=1 in the code and change the 1 default for the distance you need. Smaller size increases quality, file size and processing time and bigger size does the opposite. I tried .5 and the file size increased 8 times!. Experiment and have fun. Don't forget to save the file.

3.- Download Anaconda. This is a Scientific Python Distribution that has the modules needed for Segmentize to run. Probably there are lighter capable distributions but this is the one I found and worked well. Get it here: http://continuum.io/downloads. Select the version according to your OS.

4.- Install Anaconda. This is pretty straightforward.