My super cool build story, GUS Simpson

My super cool build story, GUS Simpson

Postby Lochemage » Wed Jan 08, 2014 7:23 pm

Hi guys,

It doesn't look like there is a forum specifically for posting up your build progress, so I thought I would start one here. If this is the wrong place, or if you just don't want it, please let me know.

First off, a little about me. I am a software engineer, I've been making video games for maybe the first 6 years of my career; Now I write simulation training games for the government. I have many hobbies, such as RC Helicopters, Programming, and even paper crafting. I have been 3D printing for maybe 3 years now. My first printer was a MakerGear Prusa i2 that I purchased as a kit and built. I've made some mods and upgrades to it, all posted on Thingiverse. I have recently put together a Rostock MAX from SeeMeCNC and am loving it (as well as the Delta configuration style). I saw the GUS Simpson a few months ago and have since decided that I want to try my hand at building it.

It has gotten some good use, but alas my Prusa has been laid to rest. I have taken it apart and am now planning on re-using the electronics for my new GUS Simpson build. As of right now, I have almost every plastic part printed. However, I have not ordered any of the vitamins needed as of yet. I think my main hurdle will be figuring out how to make the platform plates. I have limited woodworking skills, but I have met someone with a laser cutter who has offered to help me with my build, so we'll see how that goes.

I will be posting plenty of pictures and updating everyone here on my progress with this build, I hope you enjoy it. Until then, you are all welcome to view my rmax build story here.

Thanks
Last edited by Lochemage on Fri Jan 10, 2014 12:24 am, edited 2 times in total.
- Lochemage

My super cool build stories: Rostock MAX, GUS Simpson