Gus in Tennessee

Gus in Tennessee

Postby jjjordan » Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:54 pm

After all the lurking I did here to complete my gus build I wanted to share some pics. All parts are printed out of abs at the recommended values except the hub screw is 100% at 235c on my Prusa. I have just gotten my first print completed :D . ABS on an unheated bed printed al 200C because because my cheap china hot end keeps jamming at hire temps :cry: I hope to do some more calibration work next week and see where it is.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y1bLyOXbOsY

[youtube]Y1bLyOXbOsY[/youtube]
jjjordan
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:32 pm

Re: Gus in Tennessee

Postby Nicholas Seward » Fri Aug 14, 2015 10:13 pm

AWESOME.
Nicholas Seward
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:41 pm

Re: Gus in Tennessee

Postby ekaggrat » Mon Aug 17, 2015 5:37 am

how accurate are the parts dimensional?
ekaggrat
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:24 am

Re: Gus in Tennessee

Postby jjjordan » Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:10 pm

ekaggrat wrote:how accurate are the parts dimensional?

I haven't been able to get it to be repeatable enough to get it to print off calibration pieces.

I am having issue getting the bed level to be repeatable? The z points I get for the preprocessor are not consistent?

I got frustrated with trying to measure the gap with a piece of paper so I modified the marlin firmware to add a new gcode command. "G27". I covered a print bed with aluminium foil and connected a pin from the arduino to the nozzle and let it just get close to the points and than slowly increase one point until contact is made. These numbers are recorded and entered into the preprocessor.
Code: Select all
GP1 = 171.55
GP2 = 171.55
GP3 = 175.15
GP4 = 139.75
GP5 = 140.45
GP6 = 136.55
GP7 = 121.05


POINTS=[(80,90,GP1),# change z
        (80,GP2,90),# change y
        (GP3,80,90),# change x
        (GP4,50,GP4),# change xz
        (GP5,GP5,50),# change xy
        (50,GP6,GP6),# change yz
   (GP7,GP7,GP7)
   ]


Gcode sample ran

Code: Select all
G0 X10 Y10 Z10
G28
G28
G27
G0 X10 Y10 Z10
G28
G28
G27
G0 X10 Y10 Z10
G28
G28
G27
G0 X10 Y10 Z10
G28
G28
G27



"G27" output of points
Code: Select all
10:34:20.774 : GP1 = 174.65 GP2 = 174.05 GP3 = 177.15 GP4 = 140.75 GP5 = 141.05 GP6 = 137.55 GP7 = 121.85
10:35:38.309 : GP1 = 175.15 GP2 = 174.35 GP3 = 177.55 GP4 = 141.05 GP5 = 141.05 GP6 = 137.75 GP7 = 122.05
10:36:55.747 : GP1 = 174.95 GP2 = 174.05 GP3 = 177.25 GP4 = 140.95 GP5 = 140.95 GP6 = 137.65 GP7 = 121.95
10:38:13.309 : GP1 = 175.05 GP2 = 174.15 GP3 = 177.35 GP4 = 141.05 GP5 = 140.95 GP6 = 137.65 GP7 = 121.95
10:39:30.786 : GP1 = 175.05 GP2 = 174.25 GP3 = 177.55 GP4 = 141.05 GP5 = 141.05 GP6 = 137.65 GP7 = 122.05
10:40:48.205 : GP1 = 175.05 GP2 = 174.25 GP3 = 177.45 GP4 = 141.05 GP5 = 141.05 GP6 = 137.65 GP7 = 122.05
10:42:05.597 : GP1 = 174.85 GP2 = 174.05 GP3 = 177.25 GP4 = 140.95 GP5 = 140.85 GP6 = 137.55 GP7 = 121.95
10:43:23.004 : GP1 = 174.85 GP2 = 174.05 GP3 = 177.15 GP4 = 140.95 GP5 = 140.85 GP6 = 137.65 GP7 = 121.95
10:44:40.312 : GP1 = 174.85 GP2 = 173.95 GP3 = 177.15 GP4 = 140.85 GP5 = 140.85 GP6 = 137.55 GP7 = 121.85
10:45:57.596 : GP1 = 174.75 GP2 = 173.95 GP3 = 177.05 GP4 = 140.85 GP5 = 140.85 GP6 = 137.55 GP7 = 121.85
10:47:14.831 : GP1 = 174.85 GP2 = 174.05 GP3 = 177.15 GP4 = 140.95 GP5 = 140.90 GP6 = 137.65 GP7 = 121.95



I have tightened things up over the past week and the numbers don't really get any better as far as constancy goes.

Does this much hysteresis seem normal or do I need to check something?

Video of the bed probing nozzle
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BiVM3aQsjKo
[youtube]BiVM3aQsjKo[/youtube]

It is probably because of the hysteresis but when I use the numbers generated in the preprocessor about 90% of the time the print is to low. I am having trouble figuring out why it typically prints low, because sometimes it is dead on level with print bed.
jjjordan
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:32 pm

Re: Gus in Tennessee

Postby ekaggrat » Wed Aug 19, 2015 1:37 am

one thing that will make a good difference would be aluminum spools.. I dont have a GUS ( want to make one ) but i have a 3dr which started out with plastic spools and then i went to aluminium spools. The change in accuracy was a lot..

you could try that. also induction probing would work much better .
ekaggrat
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:24 am

Re: Gus in Tennessee

Postby jjjordan » Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:24 pm

ekaggrat wrote:one thing that will make a good difference would be aluminum spools.. I dont have a GUS ( want to make one ) but i have a 3dr which started out with plastic spools and then i went to aluminium spools. The change in accuracy was a lot..

you could try that. also induction probing would work much better .


Do you think the spools are causing my bed level problem?
I would think any eccentricity in the spools would be repeatable.


Nicholas Seward wrote:AWESOME.

Nick, Do you have issues with getting repeatable z probes? >.3mm deviation is huge and I keep holding out hope that it is something with my build and not inherent to the design. What say you nick?
jjjordan
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:32 pm


Return to GUS Simpson

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron