Silly Idea: GT2 Belt instead of Leadscrews

Silly Idea: GT2 Belt instead of Leadscrews

Postby CleverUsername » Wed Apr 15, 2015 7:36 pm

I understand this may sound somewhat ridiculous, but would it be possible and, more importantly, effective to use the same LISA arm and hub kinematics, but replace the expensive Leadscrews with some cheap timing belt, a couple of 3d printed IGUS-style linear bearings and some smooth rods?
Wouldn't that cut down the cost a considerable amount?

I understand that many would suggest going with a Rostock build because it's "essentially" the same, but that's not the reason I want to build a LISA with belts. I really do enjoy the look and general "rad-ness" of LISA's kinematics. That being said, I'm a student with a pretty thin wallet, so the idea of a LISA with belts is very monetarily appealing.

I do have a few points/questions regarding a build like this:

1. Is it even possible/worth it?

2. Since I would be using belts, the preprocessor would need even MORE math to configure, as I would not be using any screws at all. Would that completely bone the entire idea?

3. Wouldn't using belts speed up print times?

4. Are there any other *big* pros/cons that I would be overlooking with this build?

5. (bonus) Does LISA stand for anything in particular?

I've lurked on these forums quite a bit, and I'd love to see more activity on here again.
What do you think? :D
CleverUsername

Re: Silly Idea: GT2 Belt instead of Leadscrews

Postby Nicholas Seward » Wed Apr 15, 2015 7:46 pm

1) Yes and maybe
2) Use standard delta firmware instead. No preprocessor required. (I think... I will have to think harder on this.)
3) Maybe (There are lots of factors.)
4) The big con is that the single LISA arms aren't as rigid as the standard rostock arms.
5) LInear Simpson Alternative

I will stop here and let you ask more questions.
Nicholas Seward

Postby CleverUsername » Wed Apr 15, 2015 8:53 pm